Sheriff's Office

To Serve and Protect
Kevin A. Kemp, Sheriff                                                                                   thumbnail_KEVIN KEMP           
Committed to Excellence
605 Pine Street P. O. Box 575  Hillsville, VA, 24343
(276) 730-3020
(276) 728-4146
(276) 236-5119

Fax: (276) 728-9992


Please join
Carroll County Sheriff's Office Facebook
page for information and updates.



Key Contacts:
Sheriff Kevin A. Kemp: kevin.kemp@carrollcountyva.gov
Chief Deputy Donald G. Spanglerdonald.spangler@carrollcountyva.gov 
Captain Cody Edwards:
cody.edwards@carrollcountyva.gov

Speciality programs and departments:
Senior Citizen Wellness Check -  Communications Sgt Jessica Worrell:  jessica.worrell@carrollcountyva.gov
Day Reporting Program - Sgt Glenn Edmonds: glenn.edmonds@carrollcountyva.gov
Investigation - Chief Investigator Charles Edwards: charles.edwards@carrollcountyva.gov
Civil Process - Sgt Mark Dickerson: mark.dickerson@carrollcountyva.gov
SRO Carroll County Middle School - Lt Mike Combs: michael.combs@carrollcountyva.gov
SRO Carroll County High School - Corp Bryan Felts: bryan.felts@carrollcountyva.gov
SRO Carroll County Elementary School - Deputy Steve Woods: steve.woods@carrollcountyva.gov
SRO St Paul  School -  Deputy Gator King: gaylon.king@carrollcountyva.gov

The Carroll County Sheriff’s Department is a  twenty-four hour, full-service agency.  The Department is staffed with professional law enforcement, corrections, civil process and communications employees.  These men and women are proud of the positive impact they make every day through their service. The mission of the Sheriff's Office is to provide for peace and security of all residents and visitors of Carroll County.

The responsibilities associated with this mission are many. They include enforcement of state, local, and federal laws, protection of life and property,  identify criminal offenders and criminal activity and,  to apprehend offenders and participate in subsequent court proceedings, reduce the opportunities for the commission of some crimes through preventive patrol and other measures, aid individuals who are in danger of physical harm, protect constitutional guarantees, facilitate the movement of people and vehicles, assist those who cannot care for themselves, resolve conflict,  create and maintain a feeling of security in the community, promote and preserve civil order, and generally assist citizens in urgent situations.

We carry out these responsibilities diligently, courteously and take pride in the services we provide.  We work in cooperation with community agencies and groups to promote understanding and to enhance our law enforcement capabilities.

The Office is located in the Carroll County Governmental Center, Lower Level.

Employment Opportunities 

Current Job Openings
Application for Employment