Clerk of Circuit Court

Clerk of Circuit Court
GeraldGoad2016

GERALD R. GOAD
Clerk, Carroll County Circuit Court
PO Box 218
Hillsville, VA 24343
(276) 730-3070 (Main Line)
(276) 236-8008 (Galax Line - Option 5, then Option 1)
ggoad@vacourts.gov

The clerk of the circuit court is a constitutional officer elected to an eight-year term by the voters of the locality and is the custodian of the court’s records.  As the clerk has over 800 responsibilities listed in the Code of Virginia, some of the more common include handling of administrative matters for the court and the authority to probate wills, grant administration of estates, and appoint guardianships.  The clerk’s office is where deeds are recorded, marriage licenses and concealed weapons permits issued, U.S. passport application processing, and many other various services. 

Duties of the Clerk of the Circuit Court are many and require a thorough knowledge of business and the laws of the Commonwealth of Virginia.  The office dates back to 1619 when constitutional offices in Virginia were created by the House of Burgesses.  The variety of duties include public safety, court services, recorder of deeds, will probate, custodian of court cases, public services, preservation of historic records, keeper of election ballots and law library services.

Deputy Clerks

Janice Jessup, Criminal Clerkjjessup@vacourts.gov
Kaye Padgett, Civil Clerkkpadgett@vacourts.gov
Barbara Fadden, Probate Clerkbfadden@vacourts.gov
Carla Anderson, Office Bookkeepercranderson@vacourts.gov
Stacy Goad, General Office Clerk - sgoad@vacourts.gov